Provide visual indication when step feature is removed but configuration remains
Disabling a feature from a step should either remove the configuration (clear out the fields) or provide a visual queue that there is configuration that that will affect the step that is not visible.
I had a step performing an xml transformation. I removed the transformation feature, created a release and deployed but the transformation still occurred. I had to re-add the feature and clear the transformation fields to stop the step from performing it.