Update-to-date Step Templates
When setting up a step template, if a previously added, and configured feature has been removed from the Step Template, after which all the process steps that are using it, are updated. (Under the "Usage" section)
I suggest you remove it from the applied features when running a deployment on a release. It's the WORST to debug something that has hidden configuration features applied.