I suggest you...

Fix bug in Step Template Usage

There is a bug in v4.1.7 on the steptemplates/ActionTemplates-7/usage page.

When viewing usage for a step template, the page displayed 'This template has not been used by any projects yet.'

But when I attempted to delete it, I was warned that the template was used by a whole list of projects. I don't have access to those projects, so I suspect that the usage page is only reporting on usage within projects that I have visibility over.

I'm not sure that I could have actually deleted the template, but it would be better if the usage page checked all projects.

2 votes
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    Dean shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    declined  ·  AdminOctopus Developer (Admin, Octopus Deploy) responded  · 

    This is currently by design. The deletion check also needs to look at deployment processes that have snapshotted (i.e. deployments still in the system and not cleaned up by retention policy) however this operation can be expensive so it was best left for checking when the action is attempted rather than every time that page is loaded.

    1 comment

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Dean commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Thanks for the response. However it does beg the question of why bother even showing the potentially misleading comment on the usage page?

      Feedback and Knowledge Base